Architectural education

I think it's great that there are readers who are interested in architecture, therefore I thought I would write a longer post where I explain a bit about the education at the Royal Institute of Technology here in Stockholm, what it takes to enter the program, why I chose the education and about my own experience. Since I've only been at the school for two months, there is much I don't know but I hope I manage to answer your questions. If you wonder about anything, just ask! More about my days at school can be found under the category "Architecture 1. year".

To enter the programme:
In Secondary School (high school) I studed the Social Science Programme, even though I already in elementary school thought about studying architecture. I knew I could choose to have extra math to qualify for the Architecture Programme. You can only apply for the programme once a year. There are three ways to enter the programme and you can apply in all three groups simultaneously. You can apply through your high school grades, by the Swedish Scholastic Aptitude Test or by doing the Architect test. It has always been a high minimum of entry qualifications due to architecture being a popular education. I entered the programme through my grades and never did the architect test, therefore I can't tell you much about it but you can read about the test here.

About the education
The Architect programme is five years long and is divided into three years of Bachelor Level (grade 1-3) and two years of Master Lever (grade 4-5). During the Bachelor years the class is divided into five groups with about 20 students in each. Each group has two architects and one artist who follows us through our projects. We all have mutual lectures, goals and requirements, but exactly what the task is in every project is different from group to group. In addition to the projects we have courses, for example Architecture Techniques and Architectural Theory/-History that runs parallelly with the projects. Here you can see our scheme of the year. The colors are explained at the bottom where you also can see the different courses we have.

Why I chose the Architect programme
Due to my dad being an architect, I have always known much about the profession and always found it interesting. I've always loved to draw, paint, build, be creative and do some kind of problem solving. Since I didn't find anything else I can think of working with during my years in school, I've stuck to the architect plan.

My experience so far 
I am very grateful that I entered the programme and started studying directly after high school (I did have some hesitations about that before graduation) because so far I am more satisfied and happier than I ever imagined I would be before I started. During the last two months I've realized that I really want to work with this in the future and it fits me very well. I am aware of that my attitude and desire may change, but right now there is absolutely nothing else I want to do. I can't imagine any better job than a job where I can express my creativity and create something myself for other people.

A very big reason that I enjoy the education is the social environment and the wonderful people I ended up with. We are a great mix of personalities and ages that all goes well together and share a common interest. Thanks to these groups of 20 people each it's still a comfortable class feeling that I thought I would lose after high school. Because our days are long, we also spend a lot of time together. Required time is 9-5 but it often happens that we sit and work after 5 because we do much practical work. The school is open 24/7. This way of studying suits me very well because I find it hard to study at home. No matter what time I get home it's so nice to come home and relax without thinking about school. However, I know there will be more studies at home when we are writing exams and when we begin to work more with computer programs.

I hesitated to start studying directly after high school because I was afraid of being too occupied by the education. Today I am occupied by the education, but I don't mind. I want to be occupied by this. I don't mind spending much time in school because I enjoy what I do and I always have other people around me that I have fun with and who are going through the same thing as me.

After this long post I finally want to say that if you want to study architecture, fight for it! It may be hard to enter the programme but there is always a way to get in, although it may take years of trial. Don't give up too easily, it is after all something you may do for the rest of your life, and I think it is very important to work with something you love.


Stockholms ugliest building and nowadays my second home.

Kommentarer
Postat av: Addee

Such an inspiration.......cool......i think a blood made of architecture is running through your veins from your dad and to your future.....Cheers and best wishes from addee, london

Svar: Thank you very much! :)
Lana Karat

2012-11-29 @ 09:47:15

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0