Tokyo - TIT

We took the opportunity to visit TIT (Tokyo Institute of Technology), and their architecture school to see how it looks. Many of us will probably choose to study or work abroad in the future, someone may just end up in Tokyo. To our advantage, our teacher has studied in Japan and therefore he knew about places and people from school that we got to meet and talk to.


This strange building, The Centennial Hall, is the first thing you see on campus. I had already spent so much time in Tokyo that I didn't get surprised by the look of their buildings anymore, I didn't even react to it's "weirdness".


I reacted more when I saw the cherry trees on their campus! This road was absolutely fantastic. If the King's Garden in Stockholm has a roof of flowers, this was a sky of flowers!


I was a very happy girl because 1. The obvious: I was in Tokyo underneath beautiful cherry trees. 2. It was finally warm enough to walk around in a skirt in April, while there was a snowstorm in Sweden.


We bought food at the university's restaurant and ate outside. I have never eaten so much chicken for two weeks. I never thought I'd say it but I miss buying their ready-made food and eat it with chopsticks. I have chopsticks at home but it's not the same thing here... IT JUST ISN'T.


Honestly, don't you get the urge to run to see how far you get before you fall? Or before you crash into the tree.


We went into The Centennial Hall to check out the building from within. The first thing I saw was the rough concrete walls and the visible ventilation system... Where have I that seen before... Oh wait, in my ugly school :D


Inside the building there was a room dedicated to Shinohara, the architect of the building which was a very great and influential architect in Japan, where we saw some of his drawings and models.


The weird building was much more interesting when you realize how it was built, like, among other things, the half cylinder that goes through the entire building. Inside of it there is a restaurant. In the picture below, we are underneath the cylinder.


Then we made ​​a visit to the architecture school. Just like our architecture school it is a bit isolated on campus. Besides being a little nicer (nothing beats our school in ugliness) it reminded very much of our school. Nice to know that it's not a big difference on the other side of the world!


A whole shelf with books on earthquake engineering can not be found in our school though, haha.


On the way from there to Odaiba (more about that later) we happened to go into an empty wagon! In Tokyo! Very rare. I of course just had to take this opportunity to play a monkey, the wagon is like made for it!


Another day we went to Kanagawa Institute of Technology, that is a bit outside Tokyo, to see this glass building below. I must say that it was more interesting in pictures I had seen earlier than in reality. However, I got to enjoy even more cherry trees!


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0