Fire in Skarpnäck


If you have checked the news sites this morning, or been in the south of Stockholm and felt the smoke, you have probably heard about the fire in Skarpnäck where I live. It went on for several hours this morning before fifty firefighters managed to get it under control. Luckily no one was seriously hurt, but now 63 apartments are damaged either by fire, smoke or water, electricity and heat does not work, and about 200 people have been evacuated according to SR and some don't know when they can return home. It's not the first time you hear of such a thing, and far from the worst, just take a hurricane in the U.S. as an example, that has caused huge devastation whose scale you can hardly imagine, or the storm in India, which also required several lives and destroyed a lot of homes. But when an accident happens a few streets away, it becomes so real. One of my nightmares, to see my home and all my possessions destroyed, became a reality for many people in my neighborhood today. My brother has friends who had to run out in slippers and see the house burn, and some have been told that it will take at least six months before they can move back home. It's so horrible that I want to cry just at the thought of that experience. Mom and I filled a lot of bags with clothes to bring to the location where many of the evacuees are currently staying. Although we got rid of lots of clothes before the renovation, it was still not difficult to collect a decent bunch of clothes, winter coats and shoes. It's two different ways to think, "do I need this?" and "someone needs this more than I do." The last-mentioned made it so much easier to get rid of things and it really struck me how much we have at home that we don't use, but think that we have the use of. I really use two pairs of jeans, not eight.

Tomorrow mom will go there again with covers, pillows and other items that may be needed. Many will get help from their insurance companies but it still takes time for these things. Seven families have no insurance at all and has been taken cared of by the church so they can have roof over their heads. They have nothing. If you live nearby, collect clothes and stuff and go there tomorrow, it never hurts to help.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0