What to write



Besides the lack of pictures this dark month, the absence of posts has been due to studies. During the winter "break" I have written a draft of my bachelor thesis. I'm very happy with my choice of topic. It's hard to choose when you can basically write about anything in architecture. I knew I wanted to write about something related to urban planning and public places but couldn't think of anything more specific. Until I realized that I should do what I have always done, start from myself. So finally I chose to write about Skarpnäck (a borough in Stockholm) where I grew up and have been living for 20 years, which is also very interesting from an urban planning perspective. Pros: I already have a lot of knowledge and it's fun to read about it because I really want to know more.


Throughout my years in school, when it comes to essays I have always chosen topics that have something to do with myself. I have written a number of essays about Bosnia and Bosnian politics, history, religion, war, about nationalist propaganda in the war and national identity among Bosnian-Swedish youths vs. ethnic Swedish youths. The latter was mine and Karin's last project in high school and is still the work that I got the most out of, ever. In architecture school the subject choices haven't always been as free, but when I've been able to choose more or less freely I always choose something that has to do with a place where I 'm going or have been. I wrote about Rome before I went there and I wrote about New York before and after my visit.

My tip to you and to future me: If you don't know what to write about, choose a topic that has something to do with yourself. This way you really get something out of it and you might be able to contribute with the knowledge you already have. Think about your background, your current situation, at your future wishes or destinations, on something that you are passionate about. It feels more meaningful and you get knowledge that you can really benefit from.


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0