Tokyo - Sensō-ji

The Buddhist Sensō-ji temple is Tokyo's oldest and most famous temple. It's located in Asakusa, where we lived for most of our stay. Here you should definitely come if you want to see some more of the traditional things.
 


This huge gate is called "Thunder Gate" and it's the first thing you see comming from the street. It is always very crowded and a lot of tourists here, on weekends there is too much. Of course we went there on a weekend... 



Behind the gate this long street continues all the way to the temple, surrounded by lots of souvenir and food stalls. There is even more market and souvenir shops behind these on the picture, it's really huge!



Here you can find all the traditional souvenirs you can imagine, and more. Paper lanterns, fans, kimonos, geisha dolls, samurai swords, paintings, toys, Japanese food and candy... I had a hard time stopping myself since I think everything Japanese is nice, cute, funny or cool.



Here is another mystery, what  is the food made of?! I don't know how many times I asked myself that question. These balls, for example, what are they? You can't ask the sellers because their English is just as bad as my Japanese.






I'm still not sure why you pour water over the statue, if it's for wishing for something, or to purify the soul, which I think that I read somewhere, but people surrounded it and so did I.


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0