Tokyo - Akihabara & Ueno

The day we changed accommodation was the rainiest day during our entire stay in Tokyo. The rest of our  class was supposed to arrive that day but couldn't land because of the storm, and had to arrive the day after. In order to not let the day go to a complete waste we fought the storm and went to Akihabara in the evening, also known as the "Electric Town". Here you can find many electronics stores, games, manga, anime and lots of other nerdy stuff.



HAHA, pay extra attention to my squeaking sound at 0:18 when the wind pushes me a few meters back. I really understand why the transparent umbrellas are practical, you have to see where to go. The wind was so strong at times that I didn't notice the difference when I pressed forward against the wind or against someone's back.


On the other hand, it was a terrible quality of these transparent umbrellas. I have never seen so many broken umbrellas, they laid in heaps along the streets!


We took shelter from the rain in an arcade! You can find these everywhere in Tokyo, they are usually several stories high and of course everything sounds and flashes. Had I had more coins I would've wasted a lot more in here. I love the gaming culture in Japan!


I also love these cute little manga characters which you could win in different machines! I fought as hell to win a figure, only to discover that there was a store full of these figures only meters away.


Then we went back to our new home, Asakusa, and our beloved golden turd, hoping for better weather. Luckily, after rain comes sunshine, and next day we went to explore the shopping in Shibuya (coming up in another post) before we met the rest of the class in the Ueno park where the cherry trees had blossomed, just like in the rest of Tokyo.




Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0